The Wonders of Good Light

Standard

Before starting this blog, photography was definitely not one of my strengths and I still wouldn’t call me a professional photographer. However in the +2 months that I’ve been blogging and taking pictures of my food I have fallen in love with the art of Food Photography. Recently I’ve been doing a lot of research on good photography, especially food photography and I’ve been enjoying to learn more about what actually makes a good picture and how essential good lighting is.

My room here in England only has one window and is only exposed to sunlight for very few hours of the day, that is if the sun shines at all. But I’ve figured out the best times to do my food photography so I can take advantage of the natural light which without doubt gives the nicest and most intense pictures.

Lunch time is great because, on a sunny day it’s the time when my room is lit the most as my salad pictures today prove once again. I took about 50 pictures of the same salad because the lighting was perfect.

Still, I can’t wait to fly home in 10 short days (YAY!) where I can experiment with a dSLR camera in a house that has more than one window.

But before I share my pictures with you, I thought I’d share something Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers posted on her Facebook Page earlier today.

Hey guys! I got an email from a nursing student in West Virginia today with information about a child’s Christmas wish that I though we might be able to help come true on some small level. Max, an 8-year-old boy battling leukemia who will not make it home to celebrate Christmas has one crazy, fun Christmas wish: He would like to receive 1,000,000 Christmas cards in the mail.

If you would like to send him a card and help make his Christmas wish come true, cards may be sent to:

Max c/o Hailey Remish
417 Jones Street
Belle Vernon, PA
15012

Thank you and Happy Holidays! 🙂

It’s a wonderful opportunity to make a little boy’s Christmas more special so I really hope you’ll consider writing a card!

Hope you enjoy the pictures of my salad (incl. cauliflower, broccoli, sun-dried tomatoes, carrots with a side of delicious toasted Le Pain Quotidien walnut bread)…I just could not stop taking pictures!

One response »

Leave a Reply

