Tarts

Standard

I love salads, but sometimes I like having something on the side to nibble on. Bread is good but often not good enough. So I decided to make a tart to enjoy with my salad today. All you need is puff pastry and your favorite vegetables and off you go…

I made two tarts because I wanted to try two different flavors: Tomato-Leek and Broccoli-Cauliflower. I used the same base for both of them which made things really easy. Usually I would have probably used ricotta as a base, but I forgot to buy some so I made my base by whisking together 1 egg with yoghurt and added herbs salt and pepper. The consistency wasn’t as thick as ricotta would have been, but it was very creamy and fluffy….sort of like scrambled eggs 🙂

 

Other variations that I’ve tried so far include Basil-Ricotta with Tomatoes and Asparagus-Cheese.

I taste tested half of each tart on the side with my salad and I have to that I personally liked the Tomato-Leek Tart a little more but that’s just because I love tomatoes that are warm and juicy, fresh out of the oven.

Enjoy the rest of your day!

One response »

Leave a Reply

