It’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas!

Standard

Yesterday, when I came back from Uni another Christmas surprise was waiting for me:

These are traditional Austrian Christmas cookies (“Vanillekipferl”) and out of all of the delicious cookies my mum bakes each year, these are my favorite ones. I wish you could smell their heavenly, vanilla scent…divine! I will ask my mum to give me the recipe and I’ll post it as soon as possible.

For lunch today I felt creative enough to create my own Veggie Burger. Personally I feel that vegetable burger are one of the most difficult things to create because, first of all the flavor has to be exciting and secondly the texture has to be right. I decided that brown rice would make a good base for the patties, and included carrots, zucchini, onion, seeds, nuts and eggs and baked them for about 25min. Tastewise these were a winner, but some tweaking needs to be done before I can share the recipe with you guys.

 

The Veggie Burger was served on Le Pain Quotidien Walnut Bread with a big, colourful side salad (which included tomatoes, bell pepper and homemade cranberry sauce) and Oven-Roasted Parsnip Fries. It was a very filling, but healthy meal!

Oven-Roasted Parsnip Fries

(serves 2-4)

You will need:

  • 1-2 parsnips
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • salt, pepper
  • spring onion, cut
  1. Preheat the oven to 220°C.
  2. Cut off the tops and bottoms of the parsnips and peel them. Cut them in half lengthwise and cut into smaller, longish pieces.
  3. Place the pieces on a baking try (with kitchen foil) and drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt, pepper and spring onions.
  4. Roast for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

 

Leave a Reply

