London Weekend Recap 2

Standard

I am back in Reading after a great weekend in London. Initially I wanted to come back yesterday afternoon, but Christina and Fraser were planning on watching the ATP World Tour Final so I decided to stay for that. (My sister and I are Roger Federer fans so we were both quite happy when he finally won!)  Plus, staying in London for another night gave me a chance to do some baking. I made Cheesecake Brownies, which sound good in theory but which were still very fudgy in the center because the cream cheese on top was already turning brown…I blame the oven! I may have to give it a second go once my sugar rush has worn off.

Saturday’s dinner was really good. After two weeks of arguing with my brother about which restaurant to go to, we decided to try this great Thai restaurant which my sister had already been to once.  The food was delicious and rich in different flavors including spicy chilli and creamy coconut. As a starter I had Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce; I was hoping it would taste just like the Satay we used to have in Indonesia, which it didn’t, but it was still good. My sister had Steamed Prawn and Coconut Dumplings.

 

For the mains we decided to each order one dish and then share, which I’m glad we did because it gave me a chance to try a lot of different things. There was quite a bit of variation on the table and a lot to choose from: curry, pan-fried silken tofu, beef, fish and vegetables.

Fraser and Christina approved of my Flapjacks, so I will be posting the recipe sometime this week (even though I feel there is still some room for improvement).

Have a good week!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

