From Blue to Dark

Standard

What you’ve got to love about the month of November is the fact that you’re suddenly appreciative of every hour of sunshine you get. This morning for instance when I woke up I could see the blue sky peaking through a thick layer of fog. By the time breakfast was ready however, it was dark and the fog was even heavier than before….but at least it was sunny yesterday, right?

A problem that comes with these dark days is that its making good food photography rather impossible. Usually when I take pictures of my food I try to do so while the sun is still out and take advantage of the natural light. The good thing: now I can take pictures every hour of the day because daylight seems to be a rare luxury these day.

The morning started off with a bowl of my superfood oatmeal which I topped off with some blueberries and blackberries that I had leftover from yesterdays breakfast. Other toppings included coconut flakes, granola and walnuts and almond flakes.

 

The real star of the day however was the Stir-Fry I had as a late lunch. Stir-Fries are one of the easiest things to whip up and there is an endless amount of ingredients you can add to it.

I added almost everything I could find in my fridge. Broccoli, carrots, bell pepper, cabbage, soba noodles, tofu and…prawns! YUMMY! Topped it off with some cashew nuts and a little bit of nut butter (the toppings are optional but believe me, nut butter makes everything better!)

 

To add some flavor to the prawns I marinaded them in some garlic-salt water. All you need to do is put the prawns into a bowl, add water (just enough to cover the prawns), add salt and crush in a couple of garlic cloves. Let it sit for a couple of hours and fry them just before serving.

Gotta go. This bowl of Greek Yoghurt is calling my name!

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

