Daily Archives: November 15, 2011

Same Ingredients – New Recipe

Standard

If you read my post yesterday you will probably remember that the main ingredients used were tomatoes, zucchini, eggplant and a little bit of garlic. Due to the fact that the zucchini and eggplant were only used sparingly I had some leftover, which means I decided to use them today. And what better to make with zucchini, eggplant, tomatoes and garlic than Ratatouille!

I’ve never had the pleasure of tasting proper French Ratatouille so I can’t tell you if mine tastes anything like it’s supposed to, but the ingredients and herbs are pretty similar so there’s a change the flavor will be too. At least I hope so!

As I was making this I actually thought that it’s perfect for autumn as the colors of the vegetables happen to be red, orange and green!

Ratatouille

For about 3 portions you will need:

  • 1 onion, peeled and cut
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, either crushed or cut
  • 1 large or 2 medium eggplants, cut into small pieces
  • 2 medium zucchinis, cut into small pieces
  • 1-2 bell pepper, cut into small pieces
  • 4-5 tomatoes, cut into small cubes (you may prefer to use canned tomatoes)
  • herbs: basil, oregano, thyme, marjoram
  • salt, pepper
  • 2-3 tbsp. olive oil
  1. Begin by heating up the olive oil. Once hot, add the onion and garlic. Sauté for a couple of minutes.
  2. Gradually add the vegetables, zucchini, eggplant and bell peppers. Then add the tomatoes. Turn down the heat a little and continue to stir well. Add the herbs.
  3. Let the vegetables simmer on low heat for about 20 minutes or until you feel they are soft.
  4. At the end add salt and pepper.

I had Einkorn with my Ratatouille, but you can also serve it with rice or as a side dish to meat or even with some pasta instead of the usual Bolognese sauce. It really is simple to make and will  enrich any meal. Trust me!

 

Hope you like it as much as I do. Let me know what you think!