More Cheese

Standard

Don’t judge. I normally don’t eat cheese every single day but I do really love it. And this weekend as I was strolling down the supermarket aisle I realized I hadn’t had mozzarella in about 2-3 months! I know, a very long time. So forgive me for the cheese overload.

Lunch today was inspired by another recipe in “Alain Coumont’s communal table – memories and recipes”. Though I didn’t follow the recipe, it merely served as an inspiration, it ended up being quite the successful meal.

So in the 42 days that I’ve been blogging we’ve already established the fact that I love Italian food, and I adore Cheese. Therefore it may not come as a surprise that this Grilled Vegetable Caprese Salad really hit the spot!

It included zucchini, eggplant, cherry tomatoes, arugula, garlic and of course mozzarella.

 

I started out by oven-roasting (about 25 minutes at 175°C) the cherry tomatoes which I cut in half. To that I added garlic slices (so I’d get garlic chunks in my salad, you can also crush them if you like), two leaves of fresh basil and a drizzle of olive oil. As you can see the tomatoes were not completely dried out, but quite juicy which was great as the sweet juice and the bitter arugula leaves complemented each other perfectly.

 

For the grilled vegetables I tried cutting long, thin slices of eggplant and zucchini (which was quite the challenge). I then grilled them in some olive oil for a couple of minutes and seasoned them with salt, pepper and Italian herbs. I garnished the salad with a couple of leaves of basil and some balsamic vinegar on the side.

Hope everyone is having a good day!

Leave a Reply

