I hope you like Cheese…

Standard

…because if there is one ingredient that sums up these heavenly Ricotta Muffins that I made today it would be Cheese. Although they are called Ricotta Muffins, they taste more like the Gruyère I added. To be honest, this is one of the best recipes I have tried out in a very long time so if you share my abnormal love for cheese and like muffins (who doesn’t?) then this is a recipe for you. I’m still licking my fingers, that’s how good they were!

Even though I’d like to take credit for this recipe and say I invented these muffins, this goodie was created by the same man who coincidentally founded Le Pain Quotidien (my favorite Bakery, if you didn’t already know), Alain Coumont. I found it in the Cookbook “Alain Coumont’s communal table – memories and recipes” which they sell at the Bakeries.

 

The recipe in the book makes 12 muffins, but I decided to reduce the amount of ingredients so I’d get 3-4 muffins, because I’m not quite sure if I could eat 12 muffins (well, yes I could) and I can’t freeze them because my freezer drawer is full of other goodies I have yet to share with you. So settling for 4 muffins seemed a reasonable amount. But being the kind soul that I am, and to make your life easier, I will give you the ingredients for 12 muffins.

Ricotta Muffins

  • 220g ricotta
  • 110g full fat sour cream or fromage blanc
  • 110g whole milk
  • 110g sunflower oil
  • 330g flour
  • 6g baking powder
  • 175g grated Gruyère, Emmenthal or Comté cheese
  • 25g finely chopped chives
  • 4 eggs
  • 12g salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • oil for the muffins tins
  1. Heat the oven to 180°C
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the ricotta, sour cream, milk, oil, eggs, salt and pepper using a spatula. Ensure that a smooth and creamy mixture is produces.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and the baking powder. Gently blend the ricotta into the mixture with a wooden spatula.
  4. Add the grated cheese and the chives. Mix well and fill the pre-greased muffin tins with the mixture.
  5. Bake at 180°C for 12-14 minutes.
  6. When the muffins have been removed from the oven leave them to rest for 5 minutes before turning them out onto a cake rack.

The recipe states that the ricotta muffins should be eaten with Blueberry coulis (blueberries, agave syrup and lemon juice), but I had mine with a colorful mixed salad. The texture of the muffin was quite similar to freshly baked bread; the crust was slightly crispy and the inside was warm and still a bit doughy (because of the cheese).

 

What I loved most about these muffins, apart from their amazing cheesy taste is the fact that they gave me a change to finally bake again. Even though I love to cook and create and try out new savory recipes, baking is still something I could literally do everyday but don’t do often enough, especially being away at Uni. I like to say that my “area of my expertise” is making cupcakes (I’m not sure whether the Magnolia Bakery, Sprinkles Cupcakes or the Hummingbird Bakery would agree with me, but I know my little brother does!) and there is a certain thrill to knowing that no matter how the cupcakes will turn out, you still get to treat yourself to some butter cream frosting!

 

I hope you like this recipe, let me know what you think. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Leave a Reply

