Mangiare per vivere e non vivere per mangiare

Standard

Translation: Eat to live and not live to eat.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. I love Italian Food. There’s something about the flavors of the foods, the intensity of the herbs and the color palette on your plate that makes your food taste better than anything you’ve ever had. I’m not talking about pizza or pasta (even though I love them both), but the way people living in Mediterranean countries use vegetables and fruits and incorporate them into their meals really fascinates me. The Mediterranean Diet is  said to be one of the healthiest for a reason and I love how people living in Mediterranean countries really savor their food and come together to eat as a family, well at least that’s what I hear!

I chose to start off this post with a Italian proverb because I feel it really defines what eating is about. Many people forget that there is a limit to the amount of food our body needs, yet don’t listen to their bodies and keep eating.

But back to the food:

Some of my favorite Mediterranean-inspired recipes are undoubtedly:

  • Insalata Caprese
  • Ratatouille
  • Tiramisu (does that count?)
  • Tomato-Basil Salad (recipe below)

I hope that in the future I will be able to share and explore many more recipes but for now, here’s the recipe for my Tomato-Basil Salad. This salad will taste great with (almost) anything. I had it today with some leftover Pumpkin Pasta that I had yesterday.

Tomato-Basil Salad

You will need:

  • Tomatoes
  • Basil (fresh is best, but dried will also do)
  • Salt
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Pumpkin Seed Oil
  1. Cut the tomatoes, either into small cubes or thin slices, whichever you prefer.
  2. Pick a couple of leaves of basil off the plant and cut them into small pieces. If you are using dried basil add a couple of teaspoons.
  3. Add olive oil, and balsamic vinegar. The amounts depend on the amount of tomatoes you are using. I also add  pumpkin seed oil to my salad. This may not be available everywhere as it’s an Austrian (that’s where I come from) culinary specialty  and I only have it here (UK) with me because I always buy a couple of bottles when I fly home.

 

Hope you enjoy the recipe!

3 responses »

  1. This is one of my favorites! My personal recipe includes Mozzarella cheese as well. Never tried it with pumpkin seed oil, though. I always add the Balsamic vinegar first. This way the cheese is able to soak up the vinegar more easily. Otherwise the olive oil prevents the vinegar from entering the cheese. I use a lot of vinegar and olive oil, into which I love to dip some nice, fresh bread…..

    • Hi Mr. Kim. Thanks for the tip. I will add some mozzarella the next time I have the salad, cheese does make everything better! And I tend to add pumpkin seed oil to every salad I have as it reminds me of Austria!

Leave a Reply

