It keeps getting better

Standard

I don’t know why but somehow my lunch/dinner combo today tasted even better than the meal I had yesterday, even tough I wasn’t really sure what I was making. I got back from Uni quite late and was therefore hungry. I’ve been emptying out my fridge (because I will be spending the weekend in London) so I only had limited options: they included chickpeas, mushrooms and sweet potato. All very healthy and they sure made a perfect meal.

Lemony Chickpea-Mushroom Burgers with Sweet-Potato Fries

For the burgers you will need:

  • 1 (about 250g) can chickpeas, drained and mashed
  • about 150g mushroom, finely chopped
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • bread crumbs
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. Greek Yoghurt
  • burger bun
  • cheese
  • tomato
  • lettuce or kale
  1. Begin with heating 1 tbsp of olive oil. Add the garlic and chopped mushrooms
  2. Then add the lemon juice and let it simmer for a couple of minutes over medium heat
  3. After a couple of minutes add the chickpeas. Depending on the consistency add the right amount of breadcrumbs and Greek Yoghurt. (I didn’t have bread crumbs so I just crumbled in a piece of toast – worked as well)
  4. In a pan, heat olive oil.
  5. Form 4-5 burgers and let them brown in the olive oil.

After your burgers are fried, add some ketchup or Greek Yoghurt to your burger bun (I used a whole-wheat roll I brought back from Austria). I then added tomato, my lemony-chickpea burger and a slice of goat cheese. Instead of lettuce I used kale and stole a little ketchup from my flat mate.

For the Sweet-Potato Fries you will need:

  • Sweet Potato
  • Olive oil
  • Salt, pepper, other seasonings you like (I also used sweet chilli powder)
  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C
  2. Cut the sweet potato into evenly size (preferably longish) pieces
  3. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt, pepper and other seasonings
  4. Put the fries on a baking tray covered with kitchen foil. Bake for about 30 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

