My First Official Recipe

Standard

YAY! This is my first official recipe on my blog and I promise there are many more to come. I just have to get settled in at University again and then I’ll get cookin’. I have loads of fabulous ideas though, so stay tuned.

I decided that my first recipe had to be something really yummy so I chose kale chips…I just love them, plus they are so easy to make and they are beyond healthy.

Kale is actually a cabbage (as are broccoli, cauliflower and brussels sprouts, to name a few) and is a great source of vitamin K and vitamin C and contains anti-cancer properties.

Recipe

I usually preheat the oven to around 190°C-200°C, depending on which oven I use. Then I tear the leaves of the stems and wash the kale. I like making these as a side dish or a quick snack so I use about 3 handful of kale leaves. After washing be sure that the kale dries off completely, otherwise you will be steaming the kale, which will not lead to the crispiness we want.

Place the kale on a baking tray. I like using aluminum foil on top of the tray which tends to make the kale extra crispy. Drizzle the kale with about 1-3 tablespoons of olive oil, add salt and any seasoning you like (I add mild chilli powder).

Bake the kale for about 10-15 minutes. Again, the time will depend on your oven. The kale chips are done when the edges are just slightly brown and the leaves are crispy.

A perfect bowl of yummyness

Happy Eating!

Source

Leave a Reply

